El Hogar Graduation (November 2015) – Final Thoughts

I had hoped to publish this final post yesterday, but it was a long day of travel. I was on planes for most of the day and didn’t walk through my door until the early hours of this morning – not the time to be posting to a blog.

 

The past days in Honduras were uplifting and meaningful for me. I work each day to ensure that people hear the story of El Hogar, our amazing students, and the work that we do. This trip gave me the chance to see these students at important points of their lives. Even at their young ages, they’ve taught me so much about not letting life’s circumstances dictate how I approach each day of my future.

This trip was also a time of learning. It never ceases to amaze me how each moment of our lives – even time at the airport – can teach us valuable lessons. While standing in the check-in line yesterday in Tegucigalpa, I saw a young boy who must have only been about seven or eight years old. His face was dirty, his clothes were ragged, and he wore stress on his face that was beyond his years. He was approaching various people to ask them for money and was being turned away by each person as they focused on their imminent flights.

The boy seemed to be making his way through the entire airport and it broke my heart. This young child – someone who should be playing and going to school – was struggling to simply survive. I wondered about the circumstances of his life and where he had come from. Would I see him again the next time I visited Tegucigalpa? What will his situation be like next year, five years from now, and beyond? I don’t have the answers to these questions and all that I can do is hope that he gets the help he needs.

This drove home the importance of the work we do at El Hogar. The children in our care have come from situations that run the gamut, but they’re safe now. They have the love they need, the education they require, and the food that nourishes them. They’ve been lifted out of their difficult situations and given new leases on life thanks to El Hogar and our fantastic supporters.

The past days have been uplifting as I’ve seen young men and women taking their next steps toward (or into) independence. But our work isn’t done.

There are still far too many children living in poverty and dealing with unimaginable hardships in Honduras. We’re here for them. Our mission doesn’t end until each of their lives are changed and the cycle of poverty in this beautiful country is broken.

To those who support us and our work, thank you. For those of you who haven’t yet, we invite you to click here to begin changing the lives of these children today. It’s a sad time when I leave Honduras, but I look forward to returning and seeing (or hearing) more stories of change in the lives of the children of El Hogar.

One thought on “El Hogar Graduation (November 2015) – Final Thoughts

Leave a Reply

