El Hogar Graduation (November 2017) – Final Thoughts and the Flight Home

I’ve never liked goodbyes. Whenever a family member who had come for a visit would say their goodbyes, I would inevitably respond with, “See you soon!” The word “goodbye” seems to have an unintended feeling of permanence. Like there’s no way of coming back.

When I come to Honduras, I dread that moment when I load my bags into the van for the final time and ride through the streets of Tegucigalpa. After navigating the maze-like layout of the city, we finally arrive at the airport. The trip has come full circle. The joyous smiles and hugs that were part of our arrival now turn into quiet moments coupled with tears. We’re all trying to savor every last bit of time together before we part company and countries. I consider the employees and students of El Hogar in Honduras to be part of my extended family. And as I said above, I don’t like saying goodbyes to family.

The campuses of El Hogar are special places to me. They’re havens of safety, joy, and hope. The students never cease to amaze me with their questions and boundless energy.

Each of the students who have been honored this week have their own stories. Before El Hogar, their lives were filled with uncertainty, fear, and other unthinkable factors that were setting them up for lives within the cycle of poverty. After coming to El Hogar, their lives took a different path. The education they’ve had access to provides them with skills and knowledge that can never be taken away.

Waiting at the gate for my plane back to Boston, I took a few moments to look back on the past days in Honduras. I began to tear up as I remembered the faces of the students as they were honored for their hard work. They were so proud, and each of us in attendance were proud of them. For my wife, this first trip to El Hogar was one that gave her a greater appreciation for the work being done here. She was also excited to have finally met the students.

The beauty of Honduras isn’t just found in nature, but in the hearts of the people who call it home. I always tell people that I count it as a privilege to work for an organization like El Hogar. To be a part of changing the lives of these wonderful kids is something that I will never tire of. I’m so grateful to have been a part of this year’s graduation ceremonies, and to have shared this amazing experience with my wife. Thank you for joining me on this journey and for your support of El Hogar!

____________________________________________________

To change the lives of children in Honduras, please donate today!

Leave a Reply

